GCSE Physics

The Solar System

The Solar System is our local neighbourhood in space. The Solar System is composed of the Sun and its satellites*.

The Sun's satellites include major bodies such as planets and counteless other, minor bodies such as asteroids and comets - anything in fact that orbits the Sun.

The Sun and planets (not to scale):

The Solar System

We presently know of nine planets in the Solar System. To remember their first letters in order from the Sun, remember:

Most Very Elderly Men Just Sleep Under News Papers
My Very Easy Method Just Speeds Up Naming Planets

GCSE Physics
Major | Minor Bodies of the Solar System

GCSE PhysicsEarth & Universe Menu