GCSE Physics

Types of Radioactivity

There are three main types of radioactive emission: alpha, beta and gamma. We call them radiation.

The first two are particles. Gamma is pure energy - it's a high frquency electromagnetic wave (a bit like light, but more dangerous!)

All three come from the nucleus.

GCSE PhysicsRadioactivity Menu GCSE PhysicsGo to next page